The Hydrogeological Group is a Special Interest Group of the Geological Society of London       |

The Hydrogeology of the Chalk

A two-day conference on the Hydrogeology of the Chalk by the Hydrogeological Group of the Geological Society (supported by the Contaminated Land Group) covering current practice and future challenges on the characterisation and management of Chalk aquifers in the UK and elsewhere.

Conference Website The meeting is convened by the Hydrogeology Group and the Contaminated Land Group of the Geological Society
The conference will focus on applied science and the management of groundwater resources and quality in the Chalk aquifer.

Along with a nice new website we are pleased to announce that online registration will be available from Wednesday 7th March – (link). We will also be publishing a full draft programme on this date.

We have had an exciting and wide ranging selection of abstracts submitted with talks referencing sites across England and into Europe and the Middle East. These include keynote presentations from John Bloomfield (BGS) on the link between geological and hydrogeological conceptualisation, Hans Jørgen Henriksen (GEUS) on sustainable groundwater abstraction management in Denmark, Ofer Dahan (Ben Gurion University) on solute transport in the unsaturated zone of the chalk of Israel and Jane Dottridge (Mott MacDonald) looking at pathways for contaminants in the Chalk.

Oral presentations will be supported by a range of diverse and interesting poster presentations

On Day 1 following an opening session on the geology of the talk we will have papers on different aspects of flow processes in the chalk in England and the Netherlands and a session on groundwater management covering the English chalk from East Yorkshire to the South coast

On Day 2 there will be a comprehensive sessions on general groundwater quality as well as a specific session on nitrate issues in the chalk including another welcome Dutch perspective. Sessions on contaminated land and hydroecology complete the conference.




  • Rolf Farrell (Environment Agency)
  • Paul Howlett (Royal HaskoningDHV)
  • Angela Haslam (Environment Agency)
  • Alex Gallagher (WSP)
  • Rob Low (Rigare)
  • Adrian Butler (Imperial College)